The criminal charge of Arson or Attempted Arson is a very serious crime in Orlando, Orange County, Osceola County, Seminole County, Volusia County, or Brevard County Florida. Simply being charged with the crime of arson could result in you facing a very expensive bond or even no bond at all if the State can show to the Court that proof of your guilt is evident and the presumption is great (a higher legal standard than beyond a reasonable doubt). Central Florida Criminal Defense. Criminal defense in Orlando, and surrounding areas.
Arson or attempted arson is a very serious matter with potentially life-altering consequences, and no person should attempt to resolve their case without first consulting with an attorney. If you have been arrested for arson or attempted arson offense in Orlando, Orange County, Osceola County, Seminole County, Volusia County, or Brevard County Florida, contact the ByrdLaw Firm for a free consultation. The following are the commonly charged arson offenses and the possible penalties of each:
1st Degree Arson
You may be charged with this 1st degree felony if the prosecutor has reason to believe that you willfully or while in the commission of another felony, damage by fire or explosion any of the following:
1. Any dwelling whether or not it is occupied,
2. Any structure where people are normally present, or
3. Any other structure that you should have reasonable grounds to believe was occupied.
First degree arson is a felony in the 1st degree, punishable by up to 30 years in prison and fines reaching $10,000.
2nd Degree Arson
Same elements of the above offense, except not including the buildings referenced in the 1st degree arson statute. 2nd Degree Arson in punishable by up to 15 years in state prison.
Attempted Arson has the exact same elements of the above crimes, with the exception that the crime was attempted but unsuccessful.