Heroin Possession, Intent to Sell Heroin, or Trafficking in Heroin
Central Florida Criminal Defense. Criminal defense in Orlando, and surrounding areas. Possession of heroin is a relatively common but very serious criminal offense that we see in Orange County, Osceola County, Seminole County, Volusia County, and Brevard County. Heroin possession is aggressively prosecuted by the State of Florida. Whether or not you're charged with possession of Heroin, or Trafficking in Heroin (subject to mandatory minimum prison sentences by Florida Statute), ByrdLaw has the requisite experience to defend your rights in a court of law.
In order to take advantage of all of your civil rights, you need a drug lawyer who has handled a high number of drug criminal cases. Not all attorneys have handled many drug crimes and may not be aware that there are several different legal defenses and a plethora of potential motions to be filed in a drug possession case. Remember. an adjudication of guilt on a drug possession charge will result in your driver's license being suspended for a period of one year. The following are examples of the variety of heroin charges that we defend at the ByrdLaw Firm:
Possession of Heroin
Possession of heroin (less than 10 grams) — A felony of the third degree punishable by up to five years in state prison and a maximum fine of $5,000
Simple possession within 1,000 feet of a school — A felony of the first degree, carrying a mandatory minimum of three years in prison
Possession of more than 10 grams — A felony of the first degree, carrying a mandatory minimum of three years in prison, but punishable by up to 30 years in prison
Defendants can also lose a vehicle or real estate to civil forfeiture if law enforcement concludes it was used to facilitate the criminal activity.
Trafficking in Heroin in Florida
The State of Florida has the option to charge trafficking, a first degree felony, starting at four grams of Heroin. Penalties for trafficking in heroin are as follows:
Four grams or more, but less than 14 grams — A mandatory minimum of three years in state prison and a $50,000 fine
From 14 grams to less than 28 grams — A mandatory minimum of 15 years in state prison and a $100,000 fine
From 28 grams to less than 30 kilograms — A mandatory minimum of 25 years in state prison and a $500,000 fine
At least 30 kilograms — A life sentence without parole, and a capital felony if combined with homicide
At least 60 kilograms knowing death to a person could result — A capital felony