Port Orange Domestic Violence
Being arrested for a Domestic Violence charge in Port Orange and Volusia County, Florida is a serious situation which poses a very significant threat to your freedom, Port Orange and Volusia County Prosecutors are very aggressive in their prosecutions of Domestic Violence cases. Therefore, Port Orange prosecutors as well as those in the surrounding area do not generally distinguish relatively minor incidents from serious incidents. Here is the definition of Domestic Violence Crimes in Florida.
Domestic violence in Florida defines is any crime committed by a family or household member against another family or household member.
“Family or household member” refers to any of the following persons:
current or former spouses
persons related by blood or marriage
persons currently or formerly residing together as if a family, or
parents who have a child in common, regardless of whether they were at any time married.
The State of Florida is concerned that without aggressive prosecution of every potential Domestic Violence case, the possibility that a victim may be seriously injured or killed in the future is elevated. Central Florida Domestic Violence cases can come forward with a variety of criminal charges filed in Port Orange, and the surrounding Central Florida cities. Below are a variety of Domestic Violence related criminal charges that you may face in Central Florida:
Assault DV (Domestic Violence)
Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon DV (Domestic Violence)
Aggravated Assault with a Firearm DV (Domestic Violence)
Battery DV (Domestic Violence)
Felony Battery DV (Domestic Violence)
Aggravated Battery by Strangulation DV (Domestic Violence)
Aggravated Battery Great Bodily Harm DV (Domestic Violence)
Aggravated Battery with a Deadly Weapon DV (Domestic Violence)
Aggravated Battery with a Firearm DV (Domestic Violence)
Sexual Assault DV (Domestic Violence)
Sexual Battery DV (Domestic Violence)
Sexual Battery with a Deadly Weapon DV (Domestic Violence)
Stalking DV (Domestic Violence)
Aggravated Stalking DV (Domestic Violence)
Kidnapping DV (Domestic Violence)
False Imprisonment DV (Domestic Violence)
A conviction for a Domestic Violence case in Central Florida, Port Orange, and the surrounding cities carries with it a minimum mandatory sentence. A person convicted of a Domestic Violence case in Florida must serve a minimum of 1 year of supervised probation, and without findings by the Court, will be required to complete the Batterers' intervention program. If the person charged with a Central Florida Domestic Violence case was convicted for an offense that involved "the intentional infliction of bodily harm to another person" that person must serve a minimum of 5 days in the County Jail as well. The Court can, and frequently does impose a sentence significantly higher than the minimum sentence.
If you or a loved one has been charged or arrested for a Port Orange Domestic Violence Criminal Offense, your very freedom is at stake. You need an experienced Port Orange Criminal Defense Attorney to aggressively defend your legal rights. Contact Port Orange Criminal Lawyer Brian Byrd, at ByrdLaw, P.A. for your FREE initial consultation in reference to your Central Florida Criminal Case.