Central Florida Criminal Defense. Criminal defense in Orlando, and surrounding areas. Theft is a unique criminal offense; so much as even a first-time Petit Theft (Misdemeanor) is taken very seriously by young prosecutors and most Judges. The court simply does not treat theft-related offenses lightly. If you are charged with a theft-related offense in Orlando, Orange County, Osceola County, Seminole County, Volusia County, or Brevard County Florida, it is very important that you take this matter seriously. Several theft-related offenses are felony offenses and some even carry with them a minimum sentence score that would land a first-time offender in prison! There are several legal and factual defenses to theft-related crimes, but without the aid of an experienced criminal defense attorney, you may be unable to bring forth such defenses. Below is a listing of commonly charged and prosecuted theft-related offenses in Central Florida.
Petit Theft, Grand Theft, and Dealing in Stolen Property are crimes that carry a significant social stigma and can result in some very serious jail or prison time. No person should attempt to resolve their case without first consulting with an attorney. If you have been cited or arrested for a theft-related offense in Orlando, Orange County, Osceola County, Seminole County, Volusia County, or Brevard County Florida, contact the ByrdLaw Firm immediately for a free consultation.
Petit Theft (Misdemeanor of the 2nd Degree)
If the property stolen is valued less than $100, then the crime is a 2nd Degree Misdemeanor, with a maximum sentence of 60 days in the county jail and a $500 fine.
1st Degree Petit Theft (Misdemeanor of the 1st Degree)
If the property stolen is valued between $100 and $299, then the crime is 1st Degree Misdemeanor, with a maximum penalty of up to 1 year in the county jail and a $1000 fine.
However, if the defendant has been convicted twice of any theft crime, then the charge will be a 3rd Degree Felony punishable by up to 5 years in state prison and a $5,000 fine.
3rd Degree Grand Theft (Felony of the 3rd Degree)
If the property stolen is valued between $300 and $19,999, the crime is 3rd Degree Grand Theft. An individual will be charged with this offense if the property taken is a firearm, a motor vehicle, a commercially farmed animal, a fire extinguisher, any amount of fruit consisting of 2,000 or more individual pieces, any stop sign, construction signs, or anhydrous ammonia. The penalty for a third degree felony is a maximum of 5 years in state prison and a $5,000 fine.
2nd Degree Grand Theft (Felony of the 2nd Degree)
If the property taken is valued between $20,000 and $99,999, then the crime is 2nd Degree Grand Theft. This offense is punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
First Degree Grand Theft (Felony of the 1st Degree)
If the property taken is valued at $100,000 or more, the criminal offense is 1st Degree Grand Theft. 1st Degree Grand Theft has a maximum penalty of up to 30 years in state prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
Dealing or Trafficking in Stolen Property
Dealing in Stolen Property is a 2nd degree felony, carrying with it a maximum sentence of 15 years in state prison and a $10,000 fine. Furthermore, this charge is frequently upgraded to a 1st degree felony, Trafficking in Stolen Property, which is punishable by up to 30 years in state prison. Trafficking in Stolen Property is charged when a person: initiates, organizes, plans, finances, directs, manages, or supervises the theft of property, and then traffics in such stolen property.